The Institute for Fiscal Studies is a not for profit institution, a registered charity and a company limited by guarantee.

The aims of the Institute, laid out in its Memorandum and Articles, are to "advance education for the benefit of the public by promoting on a non-political basis the study and discussion of and the exchange and dissemination of information and knowledge concerning the economic and social effects and influences of existing taxes, proposed changes in fiscal systems and other aspects of public policy, in each case whether in the United Kingdom or elsewhere in the world".

The Institute for Fiscal Studies is a company, limited by guarantee and registered in England at 7 Ridgmount Street, London, WC1E 7AE (company registration number 954616). It is also a registered charity, number 258815.

How we are governed

The IFS employs directly some 60 staff based at its offices in London. Research staff are divided into sectors and a small core of finance, communications, technical and secretarial staff provides support facilities. Responsibility for management of the Institute lies with the director, who works with the research director to provide intellectual leadership of the research programme.

In addition, around 20 senior academic staff are seconded by the Institute from UK universities on a part-time basis. Other academics from both UK and overseas institutions work with the staff as Research Fellows and Research Associates on an ad-hoc collaborative basis.

Some IFS policies are available here.

Trustees and Council

IFS governance receives oversight from its board of Trustees and its Council.

Academic conduct is governed by IFS's code of conduct for research integrity

Council members

The IFS Council gives advice on strategic matters involving the Institute’s finances and research. Council members are elected from the membership for a term of 3 years.

Shalni Arora - Savannah Wisdom
Dame Inga Beale - Mediclinic International plc
Anthony Browne MP - House of Commons
Maureen Cole-Burns
Penny Dash - King's Fund     
Bill Dodwell - Office for Tax Simplification
Stephanie Flanders - Bloomberg
Prof Judith Freedman - Worcester College, Oxford
Lord David Freud - House of Lords
Bill Galvin - formerly USS
Chris Giles - Financial Times
Julia Goldsworthy - West Midlands Combined Authority
Sir Paul Grice - Queen Margaret University
Baroness Hogg - Financial Reporting Council
Will Hopper     
Paul Johnson - 3Dk Solutions Ltd
Judith Knott     
Chris Leslie     
Professor Denise Lievesley - Green Templeton College, Oxford
Rachel Lomax     
Clare Lombardelli - OECD
Margaret McEvoy - Consultant Economist
Bina Mehta - KPMG
Paul Morton - HMRC
David Miles - Imperial College and OBR
Saker Nusseibeh - Hermes Investment Management
Frances O'Grady - Trades Union Congress
Dame Sue Owen - formerly Department of Culture, Media and Sport
Sir Dave Ramsden - Bank of England
Rachel Reeves MP - House of Commons
Bill Robinson - KPMG
Janette Rutterford     
Chris Sanger - EY
Heather Self - Blick Rothernberg
Sir Edward Troup     
Sir Steve Webb - Lane Clark and Peacock
Dame Sharon White - John Lewis